Suite For The Drains

Australian composer Lisa Lerkenfeldt explores the hallucinatory nature of echo in the storm water network on ‘Suite For The Drains’.

The limited edition cassette features 70 minutes of new music, including variations from a 2022 commission for The Substation, compositions for the artist’s recent Japan tour, and collaborations with LA’s claire rousay, Krakòw’s Martyna Basta, and Naarm cellists Emile Frankel and Abby Sundborn.

Closing with an extended concert version of ‘Cobwebs’, piano motifs echo and erode in an illusory dance of harmonics, returning to her long form signature first seen on ‘A Liquor Of Daisies’ (Shelter Press, 2020).

The first 50 copies of ‘Suite for the Drains’ are presented with a booklet offering insight into Lerkenfeldt's practice through the eyes of photographers Traianos Pakioufakis and Campbell Walker.

Suite For The Drains is the epilogue of Lerkenfeldt’s ‘Halos of Perception’, released in Autumn 2023 on Shelter Press.

With friends and guest artists, nine works are issued on limited cassette ahead of her European debut in 2024.

Dedicated to quiet subversion with a city's infrastructure.

Released May 1, 2024

Music composed by Lisa Lerkenfeldt & special guests
Mastered by Sean McCann
Photo by Traianos Pakioufakis and Campbell Walker
Design by Lisa Lerkenfeldt
Summer 2024

Listen and shop the limited artist editions here.